Xmas songs no. 28: Motion City Soundtrack – “Together We’ll Ring In the New Year”

Commit This to MemoryThis one comes from Motion City Soundtrack’s 2005 album Commit This to Memory. You can read my reviews of last year’s Go and Making Moves here.

This must be it, welcome to the new year
The drinks were consumed, the plants were destroyed and the hors d’oeuvres dismantled
I’m not smiling behind this fake veneer
I am often interrupted or completely ignored
But most of all I’m bored

I’m trying to find out if my words have any meaning
Lackluster and full of contempt when it always ends the same
Why won’t she listen to me?

Why did I come? Oh, why did I come here?
These humans all suck, I’d rather be home feeling violent and lonely
I’m not trying to sound so insincere
But the postcard that’s taped to the freezer reads “Wish you were here”
How I wish I could disappear

Heads up, damage control, there’s a ring around her finger
Last chance for changing lanes and you missed it by a mile
Why won’t she listen to me?

This must be it, welcome to the new year

Leave a Reply

