Xmas songs no. 9: Jimmy Eat World – “Last Christmas”

Last ChristmasOf all the cover songs in my folder of Christmas tunes, this one is my hands-down favorite. Since Wham! first recorded “Last Christmas” in 1984, it’s been covered by a huge array of artists including Billie Piper (Rose Tyler from Doctor Who), Ashley Tisdale, Taylor Swift, the Glee cast, and even that annoying CGI character Crazy Frog. I haven’t heard most of those covers, in fact I’ve probably only heard the original Wham! version a couple of times, but Jimmy Eat World’s version of it, which eliminates most of the verses, is easily my favorite track to play during the holidays. They first released it as a Christmas single in 2001, right when they were riding the success of Bleed American and “The Middle” was topping the Modern Rock chart. The B-side of the single was an incredibly emo-fied cover of The Prodigy’s “Firestarter”. You can read my review of Jimmy Eat World’s latest album here.


Last Christmas I gave you my heart
The very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

A face of a lover with a fire in his heart
A man undercover, but you tore me apart
Now I’ve found a real love, now I’ve found
You’ll never fool me again

Leave a Reply

