Xmas songs no. 7: Jack’s Mannequin – “The Lights and Buzz”

The Lights and BuzzYesterday  I posted a Something Corporate song, so today let’s hear from SC frontman Andrew McMahon’s other band, Jack’s Mannequin. After the release of JM’s debut album Everything in Transit in 2005, McMahon was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia and received a stem cell transplant from his sister. Once in remission, “The Lights and Buzz” was the first song he wrote and recorded, with lyrics influenced by his recovery (see below). It came out as a single in November 2005, and in 2006 was included as a bonus track on the Japanese release of Everything in Transit, as well as on Kevin & Bean’s Super Christmas compilation.


I’m coming home from my hardest year
I’m making plans not to make plans while I’m here
And this life has been no holiday, a complicated situation
I’m fine with all my memories, so I could use vacation

It’s Christmas in California
And it’s hard to ignore that it feels like summer all the time
But I’ll take a west coast winter to remove my splinters
It’s good to be alive
It’s good to be alive

I’m coming hope to lights and buzz
Streets look the same, still nothing’s as it was
And this place is paradise, I’m sure; here’s my reservation
I’ve got lost here once before inside a good vibration

And time, it’s said it stops for no one
The seasons come and go and that’s just time
Outside it stops for no one
The seasons keep on going
Whether or not we’re blind

Leave a Reply

