Xmas songs no. 1: The Mighty Mighty Bosstones – “This Time of Year”

This Time of YearI had a lot of fun in October posting a different Halloween-themed song each day, and I want to to do it again this month for Christmas and New Year’s. Over the years I’ve amassed quite a library of holiday songs by artists I like, including originals and lots of covers. I’ll post one a day and tell a little about it, if there’s a story. At the end of the month I’ll put it all in a Spotify playlist.

Today’s track is from The Might Mighty Bosstones. It’s an original song that they recorded in 2001 during sessions for their album A Jackknife to a Swan, and gave out as a promo CD during that year’s Hometown Throwdown, an annual series of shows the band plays each December in Boston.


The bells, the bows, and the flashing lights
The mistletoes and the “Silent Night”s
It’s all for show and it’s alright
That’s not why I love this time of year

This time of year
It gets me and it never lets me act like I don’t care
This time of year’s my favorite time of year
‘Cause all of us are here together

The stores are packed with stuff to buy
The shelves are stacked a mile high
But back to what it is that I
Love about this time of year

There’s hype, that’s true; What can you do?
Just simply spending it with you
That keeps me looking forward to
Looking forward to this time of year

Leave a Reply

