meep does San Diego Comic Con 2012

I’m sure by now if you’re interested in SDCC you probably have gotten a nice fill of it from other blogs and such. That takes some pressure off me, since I doubt I have much more to bring to the table in regards to it. There are some things I’d like to mention, things that I felt made SDCC 2012 a little bit different from the years I had been before.

There were a ton, A TON, of pretty girls dressed as Loki. However, I only saw one guy and to be honest, the hot chicks pretty much trounced him. Seriously, these chicks were outstanding! Here’s a picture of my personal favorite:

Perhaps the hottest lady Loki I’ve ever seen. And I have no idea what her friend was dressed like. I guess I lose some nerd cred there.

I would also like to mention how awesome it was to see a drag Harley Quinn next to Batwoman! I just finished reading Batwoman Elegy on the plane ride down to San Diego and without going too far off the deep end with rants of it’s brilliance, let’s just say that Batwoman is now the number one super hero in my heart these days. I was so excited to see someone cosplay as her! And with a Harley close by?! I have a feeling if we had more time, we would all be best friends right now.

Photo by Teri London

These are my two favorite comic characters right now. And they were walking the floor together! Meant to be.

There were also a lot of Zatannas, girl Doctor Whos, and pretty much 85% of the con floor was either dressed as Finn from Adventure Time or at least had his little hat on. I’m sorry to say, but if you thought you and your friends were the only ones to see the wonderment of that show, you were very wrong.

Another thing I’d like to note: Though many people perhaps did not recognize or care about my Sisters of Mercy shirt that I wore on the floor Friday, those that did had to stop me, tell me how great my shirt was, and then immediately tell me the last time they saw Sisters in concert. NO JOKE. I had at least five people do this to me, and even one of them was at an Adult Swim party where you’d think people would be less likely to nerd out over a goth band shirt. It was great to know that even my gothiness was appreciated at Comic Con.

I only went to one panel, big event, and after-party. Pretty much everything else was walking the floor, meeting up with friends and eating a lot. I have to admit that a lot of my SDCC experience was meant more for a vacation than anything else.

More to come!

– X.

3 responses to “meep does San Diego Comic Con 2012

  1. I am glad you loved my Batwoman costume, and that was my husband in the Harley. He did amazingly well for his first time in drag. =) Look me up on FB with the email address I have to give to post, if you can. If not, reply here and I will shoot it off to you.

Leave a Reply

